Two Congregation of Holy Cross provinces meet at Notre Dame

An assembly of two Congregation of Holy Cross provinces, the Indiana Province of Priests and Brothers and the Eastern Province of Priests and Brothers, will begin on June 13 at the University of Notre Dame.

The event marks the first time the two provinces have come together for an assembly as they prepare to merge the Eastern Province into the Indiana Province on July 1. The resulting province will be known as the United States Province of Priests and Brothers of the Congregation of Holy Cross.

Nearly 340 Holy Cross priests, brothers and seminarians from across the United States, Peru, Chile, Kenya, Uganda and Mexico have gather for the assembly under the theme “Men with Hope to Bring: Closest Neighbors, Trustworthy Friends, Brothers.”

The assembly will begin with addresses by the provincial superiors of the two provinces and will conclude Thursday, June 16, with a renewal of vows. The keynote speaker for the assembly is Archbishop Joseph Tobin, C.Ss.R., the Vatican secretary for the Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life.

The Congregation of Holy Cross is Notre Dame’s founding religious community.

Originally published by Dennis Brown at on June 14, 2011.

More Related Articles