Fourteen Holy Cross Men Celebrate Jubilee

Each year, the U.S. Province of Priests and Brothers recognizes its Jubilarians. We celebrate priests and brothers commemorating the 25th, 50th, 60th, 65th, or 75th anniversaries of ordination or in the case of brothers, religious profession. We commemorate their years of love and service to the Church.

The dean of this year’s class was Rev. Edward D. O’Connor, C.S.C., a retired professor of theology at Notre Dame, who celebrated his seventy-fifth anniversary of ordination. The youngest member was Rev. Gary S. Chamberland, C.S.C., the director of the Notre Dame–Newman Centre in Dublin, Ireland, who celebrated his twenty-fifth anniversary.

Five men celebrated their 50th, or golden, anniversaries. Rev. Hugh W. Cleary, C.S.C., served as Superior General from 1998-2010. Bishop Arthur J. Colgan, C.S.C., was appointed the auxiliary bishop of the Diocese of Chosica in 2015. Other golden Jubilarians include Rev. John H. Pearson, C.S.C., a retired professor at Notre Dame Law School; Rev. James L. Rebeta, C.S.C., a clinical psychologist and medical school professor; and Rev. Robert W. Lozinski, C.S.C., currently pastor to a Byzantine Catholic community in Pennsylvania.

These fourteen Jubilarians represent a combined 780 years of service to Holy Cross and the Church:

Ordination to the Presbyterate

Rev. Edward O’Connor, C.S.C.

Ordination to the Presbyterate

Rev. James Murphy, C.S.C.
Rev. Francis Zagorc, C.S.C.

Ordination to the Presbyterate

Rev. Richard Berg, C.S.C.
Rev. Charles Kohlerman, C.S.C.
Rev. Gerald Papen, C.S.C.
Rev. Robert Villegas, C.S.C.
Rev. James Watzke, C.S.C.

Ordination to the Presbyterate

Most Rev. Arthur Colgan, C.S.C.
Rev. Hugh Cleary, C.S.C.
Rev. Robert Lozinski, C.S.C.
Rev. John Pearson, C.S.C.
Rev. James Rebeta, C.S.C.

Ordination to the Presbyterate

Rev. Gary Chamberland, C.S.C.

Back Row, Left-Right: Rev. Hugh Cleary, C.S.C., Rev. John Pearson, C.S.C., Rev. Gary Chamberland, C.S.C., Rev. Robert Villegas, C.S.C., Rev. Charles Kohlerman, C.S.C.
Front Row, Left-Right: Rev. Francis Zagorc, C.S.C., Most Rev. Arthur Colgan, C.S.C., Rev. Edward O’Connor, C.S.C., Rev. James Murphy, C.S.C., Rev. James Watzke, C.S.C.
Some of the men were unable to appear in the picture.

More Related Articles

Join a Brotherhood of Men with Hope to Bring

Discern your vocation and discover the life God is calling you to live.

Contact Us